

Proceedings of the Meeting of the Leeds City Council held Civic Hall, Leeds on Wednesday, 24th May, 2023

PRESENT: The Lord Mayor Councillor Robert Gettings MBE JP in the Chair.

WARD

WARD

ADEL & WHARFEDALE

Billy Flynn Barry John Anderson Caroline Anderson **ALWOODLEY**

Lyn Buckley Dan Cohen Neil Buckley ARDSLEY & ROBIN HOOD

Stephen Holroyd-Case Karen Renshaw Mike Foster ARMLEY

Alice Smart James McKenna BEESTON & HOLBECK

Andrew Scopes Annie Maloney Gohar Almas BRAMLEY & STANNINGLEY

Tom Hinchcliffe Kevin Ritchie Caroline Gruen **BURMANTOFTS & RICHMOND HILL**

Nkele Manaka Luke Farley Asghar Khan CALVERLEY & FARSLEY

Peter Carlill Andrew Carter Amanda Carter CHAPEL ALLERTON

Jane Dowson Eileen Taylor Mohammed Rafique CROSS GATES & WHINMOOR

Pauleen Grahame James Gibson Jessica Lennox FARNLEY & WORTLEY

David Blackburn Mark Sewards Adrian McCluskey GARFORTH & SWILLINGTON

Suzanne McCormack Mark Dobson Sarah Field GIPTON & HAREHILLS

Asghar Ali Salma Arif

GUISELEY & RAWDON

Oliver Edwards Eleanor Thomson Paul Alderson

HAREWOOD

Ryan Stephenson Matthew James Robinson Sam Firth HEADINGLEY & HYDE PARK

Abdul Hannan Jonathon Pryor Alison Garthwaite

HORSFORTH

Raymond Jones Emmie Bromley John Garvani HUNSLET & RIVERSIDE

Paul Wray Mohammed Iqbal Ed Carlisle **KILLINGBECK & SEACROFT**

Katie Dye John Tudor David Jenkins **KIPPAX & METHLEY**

Michael Millar Mary Elizabeth Harland James Lewis KIRKSTALL

Andy Rontree Hannah Bithell Fiona Elizabeth Venner LITTLE LONDON & WOODHOUSE

Abigail Marshall-Katung Kayleigh Brooks Javaid Akhtar **MIDDLETON PARK** Emma Pogson-Golden Wayne Dixon Sharon Burke **MOORTOWN** Mahalia France-Mir Sharon Hamilton Mohammed Shahzad

MORLEY NORTH

Robert Finnigan Robert Gettings MBE JP Andy Hutchison **MORLEY SOUTH**

Wyn Kidger Oliver Newton Jane Senior

OTLEY & YEADON

Ryk Downes Colin Campbell Sandy Edward Charles Lay **PUDSEY**

Trish Smith Simon Seary Dawn Seary **ROTHWELL**

Diane Chapman Barry Stewart Golton Conrad Hart-Brooke **ROUNDHAY**

Jordan Bowden Zara Hussain Lisa Martin **TEMPLE NEWSAM**

Nicole Sharp Debra Coupar Helen Hayden **WEETWOOD**

Julie Heselwood Izaak Wilson Emma Flint **WETHERBY** Penny Stables Norma Harrington Alan James Lamb

1 Opening Remarks

The Lord Mayor welcomed to the meeting Members , Guests and His Majesty's Lord Lieutenant of West Yorkshire , Mr Ed Anderson, the Lord Mayor reminded all those present that the Annual Meeting was to be streamed live and asked people to switch electronic devices to silent.

The Lord Mayor informed Council that Hon Alderman Mick Coulson and Hon Alderman Mike Dunn had recently passed away.

Council stood in silent tribute.

2 Issue of Papers for the Meeting

The Lord Mayor indicated that, following the dispatch of the Summons with accompanying reports on Tuesday 16th May 2023, further papers originally identified on the Summons as to follow were circulated to Members on both the 23rd and 24th May 2023.

3 Election of Lord Mayor

It was moved by Councillor Lewis, seconded by Councillor Cohen, supported by Councillors Golton, Newton, Carlisle and Dixon and

RESOLVED - That Councillor AI Garthwaite be elected Lord Mayor of the City of Leeds to hold office until the election of her successor.

4 Election of Vice Chair of Council

It was moved by Councillor Flint, seconded by Councillor Stephenson, and

RESOLVED - That Councillor Jane Dowson be elected Vice Chair of Council to hold office until immediately after the election of the Lord Mayor in 2024.

5 Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Lord Mayor

Councillor Pryor moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor Gettings. This was seconded by Councillor Lamb and supported by Councillors Golton, Kidger, Blackburn, Dobson and Dixon and

RESOLVED– That a vote of thanks be moved for the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor Gettings.

6 Minutes of the last Meeting

It was moved by Councillor Flint, seconded by Councillor Stephenson and

RESOLVED – That the minutes of the meeting held on 22nd March 2023 be approved.

7 Declaration of Interest

There were no declarations of interests.

8 Announcements

There were no announcements.

9 Establishment of Committees and Appointments It was moved by Councillor Flint, seconded by Councillor Farley and

RESOLVED –That Schedules 7(a) to 7(c) and 7(e) to 7(f) be approved.

10 Appointment of Community Committee Chairs

It was moved by Councillor Flint seconded by Councillor Farley that in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rules where the nomination for the chair of a Community Committee is unopposed, the Lord Mayor invited those Members of the Community Committee present at the Council meeting to elect that nominee.

The nominees were as follows;

- Councillor I Wilson	
Inner North East Community Committee - Councillor M Shahzad	
- Councillor N Harrington	
- Councillor A Hussain	
- Councillor P Grahame	
 Councillor A Smart 	
- Councillor Amanda Carter	
 Councillor O Newton 	

Upon being put to the vote those Members listed to vote in respect of the appointment of the Chair for their respective Community Committees;

RESOLVED – That the Chair for each Community Committee be appointed as set out above.

11 Appointment to Chair Inner South Community Committee

It was moved by Councillor Flint seconded by Councillor Farley that in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rules that the appointment of the Chair of the Inner South Community Committee be determined by those Members of the Community Committee present at the Council meeting.

The 2 nominees were Councillor Dixon and Councillor Iqbal.

Upon being put to the vote those Members listed to vote in respect of the appointment of the Chair for the Inner South Community Committee;

RESOLVED – That Councillor Iqbal be appointed Chair of the Inner South Community Committee.

12 Appointment to Chair Outer North West Community Committee

It was moved by Councillor Flint seconded by Councillor Farley that in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rules that the appointment of the Chair of the Outer North West Community Committee be determined by those Members of the Community Committee present at the Council meeting.

The 2 nominees were Councillor Alderson and Councillor Thomson.

Upon being put to the vote those Members listed to vote in respect of the appointment of the Chair for the Outer North West Community Committee;

RESOLVED – That Councillor Thomson be appointed Chair of the Outer North West Community Committee.

13 Scheme of Delegation (Council Functions)

It was moved by Councillor Flint seconded by Councillor Farley and

RESOLVED – That the Officer Delegation Scheme (Council (Non-Executive) Functions) as detailed in Schedule 8 be approved.

14 Executive Arrangements

It was moved by Councillor Lewis seconded by Councillor Flint and

RESOLVED – That the list presented by the Leader setting out the arrangements for the discharge of Executive Functions, as detailed in Schedule 9, be noted.

15 Council Meeting Dates 2023/2024

It was moved by Councillor Flint seconded by Councillor Farley and

RESOLVED – That the dates of the meetings of the Council for the Municipal Year 2023/24, as detailed in Schedule 10 be approved.

Council rose at 6.10 pm